Original Research

Flora of the Zuurberg National Park. 1. Characterization of major vegetation units

B-E. van Wyk, P. A. Novellie, C. M. van Wyk
Bothalia | Vol 18, No 2 | a1048 | DOI: https://doi.org/10.4102/abc.v18i2.1048 | © 1988 B-E. van Wyk, P. A. Novellie, C. M. van Wyk | This work is licensed under CC Attribution 4.0
Submitted: 23 October 1988 | Published: 23 October 1988

About the author(s)

B-E. van Wyk, Department of Botany, Rand Afrikaans University, South Africa
P. A. Novellie, National Parks Board, South Africa
C. M. van Wyk, Botanical Research Institute, South Africa

Full Text:


Share this article

Bookmark and Share


The distribution of major vegetation units or veld types in the Zuurberg National Park, situated on the eastern limits of the Fynbos Biome, is presented. Structural and floristic criteria are used to describe and map five basic units, namely Afromontane Forest, Subtropical Thicket, Mountain Fynbos, Grassy Fynbos and Grassland.


Afromontane Forest; biogeography; eastern Cape; Fynbos Biome; Grassland; Grassy Fynbos; Mountain Fynbos Subtropical Thicket; vegetation units


Total abstract views: 1361
Total article views: 1928

Crossref Citations

No related citations found.