Original Research

A floristic classification of the vegetation of a forest-savanna boundary in southeastern Zimbabwe

I. Mapaure
Bothalia | Vol 27, No 2 | a680 | DOI: https://doi.org/10.4102/abc.v27i2.680 | © 1997 I. Mapaure | This work is licensed under CC Attribution 4.0
Submitted: 08 October 1997 | Published: 08 October 1997

About the author(s)

I. Mapaure, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe

Full Text:


Share this article

Bookmark and Share


The vegetation of Chirinda Forest boundary was classified into eight types using Two-way Indicator Species Analysis (TWINSPAN) and Detrended Correspondence Analysis (DCA). The moist forest comprises three types:  Strychnos mellodora-Chrysophyllum gonmgosanum Forest on deep dolerite soils; Chrysophyllum gorungosanum-Myrianthus holstii Forest on shallow dolerite soils; and  Teclea iiobilis-Ehretia cymosa Forest on drier, but deep dolerite soils. The non-forest vegetation comprises five types: Themeda triandra Grassland on shallow dolerite soils; Psidium guajava Bushland on sandstone; Bridelia micrantha-Harungana madagascariensis Mixed Woodland not restricted to any one particular soil type; Acacia karroo- Heteropyxis dehniae Woodland on shallow soils derived from sandstone but sometimes on dolerite; and  Julbemardia globiflora-Brachystegia spiciformis (Miombo) Woodland on sandstone.


classification. Detrended Correspondence Analysis; forest-savanna boundary; moist forest; savanna; TWINSPAN; vegetation type; Zimbabwe


Total abstract views: 1703
Total article views: 2824

Crossref Citations

No related citations found.